I’m Sick Of Being A Makeup Wimp

I’m sick of being a makeup wimp. It happens every time – I go out and buy an adventurous palette, a super bright shade of lipstick… And I end up playing it safe.

I desperately want to be more adventurous and creative with my makeup, but I’m scared that 1. I’ll stick out like a sore thumb, and 2. It will look sloppy and unprofessional.

Here’s a shitty picture of my average look – a nudeish eye, eyeliner, mascara, and brow. Simple, easy, and proven to work:

img_2663

Here’s some extremely shitty pictures of a couple of fun experiments.ย I rarely experiment with eyeliner, so this is very extreme (and, as expected, sloppy) for me:

And here, in all their small, weirdly shaped glory, are some ‘extreme’ lip looks (I only ever wear nudes, so bright colours like purple and red are completely out of the box for me!):


In both cases, these looks are awful. I struggle to clearly define eyeshadow colours, and I’m terrified of over lining my lips… But I think there’s are tricks to the way we can be bolder and braver with our makeup looks. It’s going to take time, but I’ll get there eventually.

Here’s a fun list to being bold and brave!

  1. Experiment! You never know until you try, so use the bright purple lipstick sat at the back of your makeup drawer, play with the silver eyeliner you’ve been too scared to use, why not? You might stumble into a whole new look that you never even dreamed of!
  2. Practice! Practice makes perfect, and it probably takes hundreds of tried for beauty bloggers to perfect that look which got 10k likes on Instagram. Keep going, keep blending, keep perfecting that eyeliner.
  3. Step outside your comfort zone! Never used that shade of bright blue in your eyeshadow palette? Now is your time! Bright colours are fun and becoming more ad more fashionable. Go without eyeliner if that’s your go-to look, or vice versa. Try something new.

I’ll keep experimenting anyway, and I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

